Saint John the Evangelist
"Come for the Beauty, Stay for the Faith"
St. John the Evangelist Parish in downtown Green Bay is the oldest continuous Catholic Congregation in the State of Wisconsin. It was founded in 1831 at Shantytown (site of the present Allouez Catholic Cemetery) by Reverend Samuel Mazzuchelli, a young Dominican missionary, to serve the Native Americans, the French Canadian fur traders, and the soldiers of the old Fort Howard.
After fire destroyed the Shantytown church in December of 1847, the decision was made to locate in downtown Green Bay where the center of population had shifted. Tragically, fire also destroyed the second and third St John churches, but each time the parish members rallied and rebuilt on roughly the same downtown location, and the Parish remains there to this day. The fourth church was dedicated in 1912 and is one of the most majestic in the city. Please read about our beautiful stained glass windows on our history page!
Originally known as the "French" parish ministering to some of the first European inhabitants, the arrival of new waves of immigrants to the Green Bay area saw St. John the Evangelist became the "mother" church of many of earliest parishes in Green Bay that were begun to serve the unique needs of these new ethnic groups.
Today, though a shifing population and demographic now finds the parish as the smallest in the diocese, St. John the Evangelist continues to play a unique role in the area as the bilingual and bicultural home of the Deaf Community, and through the opening of the St. John the Evangelst Homeless shelter housed in the former St John the Evangelist Elementary School.
Sometimes less is more, and in the case of St. John the Evangelist, a smaller parish has made for one of the warmest, friendliest and most tightly knit groups in Green Bay's ecumenical community. We have begun to capitalize on our uniqueness-- the warmth, the beautiful church, our bicultural community and our dedicated volunteers-- by beginning a new campaign to spread the news of our secret gem in the heart of Green Bay, and spread the Good News of Christ. Please see our "Growing in Fatih" page for more information and consider visiting us! "Come for the beauty, stay for the faith."
Father John W. Girotti
Saturday: 4:00 p.m.
Sunday: 8:30 a.m. Deaf Mass (all are welcome) & 10:45 a.m.
3rd Sunday: No 8:30 a.m., 10:45 a.m. shared liturgy for Deaf and Hearing
Tues. & Thurs.: 8:30 a.m.
Adoration & Prayer
Mon. & Fri.: 8:30 a.m.
Adoration & Rosary
Wed.: 8:30 a.m.
Saturday 3 to 3:30 p.m. and by appointment